Blog Post:

Eight Amentum Projects Recognized for Safety Excellence with NSC 2020 Industry Leader Awards

national safety council logo square

National Safety Council logo 2

Eight Amentum Projects Recognized for Safety Excellence with NSC 2020 Industry Leader Awards

The National Safety Council recently announced the recipients of its 2020 Industry Leader Awards, recognizing excellent safety performance within their industries.

The Industry Leader Awards are one component of the NSC Occupational Awards Program, which recognizes outstanding safety achievements of NSC members and represents the top 5 percent of member companies that have qualified for the NSC 2020 Occupational Excellence Achievement Award (based on 2019 calendar year data). This year’s list includes eight Amentum projects:
• Blue Grass Chemical Agent Disposal Pilot Plant (4th consecutive)
• Contract Field Team NAS Lemoore
• Contract Field Team Wheeler Army Air Field
• CTRIC Program – Manassas, Virginia
• Pueblo Chemical Agent Disposal Pilot Plant (3rd consecutive)
• APS-5 Kuwait
• Savannah River Remediation
• Washington River Protection Solutions

“We appreciate each team’s commitment to safety excellence and their commitment to making our company an industry leader,” said Jeff Treffinger, Amentum’s Senior Vice President, EHS & Quality. “Amentum has a remarkable history of capturing these top awards from the National Safety Council with 49 since 2011.”

Winners are selected based on the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code, lowest total incidence rate and employee work hours. Amentum is one of 36 organizations included in the 2020 awards.

“It is truly an honor to recognize these 36 organizations for their commitment to advancing safety,” said Ingrid Schoen, NSC director of membership. “This year’s winners exemplify what it means to protect employees from death and injury at work by making safety a priority. Congratulations on a job well done.”

As a mission-based organization, the National Safety Council works to eliminate the leading causes of preventable death and injury, focusing efforts on the workplace, roadway and impairment. It works to create a culture of safety to not only keep people safer at work, but also beyond the workplace so they can live their fullest lives.

Official recognition typically takes place during NSC’s Annual Awards Celebration; due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the celebration has been postponed until March 2021.

Scroll to Top
Cookies are used on this site to assist in continually improving the candidate experience and all the interaction data we store of our visitors is anonymous. Learn more about your rights on our Privacy Policy page.